In pursuit of our mission, vision, and values, the Culverhouse College of Business is dedicated to the aggressive pursuit of ethics and ethics education that complements the rigorous technical training in our undergraduate and graduate programs. Our focus on ethics is consistent with the university’s Code of Academic Conduct. We take ethics and character seriously!

The College’s Ethics Advisory Committee (EAC)

The College’s Ethics Advisory Committee (EAC) helps to develop and oversee the college’s ethics program. The EAC works with the Dean, faculty, staff, students, and university’s Center for Ethics and Social Responsibility to implement existing ethics initiatives and seek innovative, proactive methods for promoting ethics and character development. Members of the 2017-2018 EAC include:

  • F. Todd DeZoort, Ph.D (Committee Chair); Durr-Fillauer Chair in Business Ethics & Professor of Accounting
  • William E. Jackson III, Ph.D; Smith Foundation Chair of Business Integrity & Professor of Management
  • Bob Brooks, Professor of Finance
  • Yuanyuan Chen, Assistant Professor
  • James King, Minnie Caddell Miles-Frank A. Rose Memorial Endowed C&BA Professorship of Leadership
  • Robert W. McLeod, Ph.D; John S. Bickley Faculty Fellow in Insurance and Finance
  • Troy Pollard, Assistant Professor of Accounting
  • Nancy Sirianni, Jones Endowed Chair of Services Marketing
  • Kay Palan, Ph.D.; Ex Officio Member and Dean of the Culverhouse College of Business
  • Peter Do; Chief Justice, Academic Honor Council, Culverhouse College of Business

Personal Code of Ethics

The College has a Personal Code of Ethics (PCE) program that requires all students to consider and communicate their personal assortment of virtues, vices, and ethical priorities as they develop personally and professionally. The PCE is a critical part of the Ethics Program because it provides a formal opportunity for all students to develop personal standards of conduct that they can apply both in and out of class.

The J. Craig Smith Integrity Award

The J. Craig Smith Integrity Award recognizes outstanding students in the college who consistently exemplify the values of integrity and compassion that J. Craig Smith built in his business career and personal life. The students receiving this annual award exhibit strong character, clear signs of progressive ethical thinking, and a commitment to advancing the quality of life in the wider community, especially for those less fortunate.

  • 2015-2016 Winners: Kaitlyn Haefer, Grace Hudgins, Polly Rickets, Shirin Torabinejad
  • 2014-2015 Winners: Sarah Kim, Nathan Miklovic, Kendall Roden, Abby Snyder
  • 2013-2013 Winners: Hayley Ginn, David Hose, Erika McCalpine, John Pounders

The J. Craig Smith Business Ethics Lecture

The J. Craig Smith Business Ethics Lecture…….

  • 2019 Tony Menendez
  • 2017 Kay Palan
  • 2016 Alton Sizemore
  • 2015 Bill Battle