UA Faculty Selected to Participate in SECU Program

  • October 12th, 2016

TUSCALOOSA, Ala. – Ten faculty members at The University of Alabama will take part in the 2016-17 Southeastern Conference Faculty Travel Program, which provides travel support and encourages collaboration among colleagues at other SEC member institutions.

More than 100 faculty members from all 14 Southeastern Conference universities will take part in the 2016-17 SEC Faculty Travel Program, according to the league office.

The SEC Faculty Travel Program is in its fifth year and part of SECU, the academic initiative of the Southeastern Conference. Program participants from each SEC university will travel throughout the academic year to exchange ideas, develop grant proposals, conduct research and deliver lectures and performances.

“We continue to be impressed by the quality of our faculty and the impact they have in their respective fields,” said Dr. Carl A. Pinkert, vice president for Research and Economic Development at UA. “The SEC’s Faculty Travel Program is a great opportunity for our faculty to expand their collaborative network and enhance their academic scholarship. The outcome of these awards will ultimately impact research recognition and energize teaching, outreach and research excellence on our campus.”

UA’s traveling faculty for the 2016-17 academic year are:

Dr. Jeremy Butler, professor, College of Communication and Information Sciences.

Dr. Teresa Cribelli, assistant professor, department of history.

Dr. Timothy Feeny, assistant professor, School of Music.

Dr. Adam Hauser, assistant professor, department of physics and astronomy.

Dr. Nicholas N. Kerr, assistant professor, department of political science.

Dr. Merinda Simmons, associate professor, department of religious studies.

Dr. Wei Song, assistant professor, College of Engineering.

Dr. Emma Wilson, assistant professor, department of English

Dr. Ken Wright, professor, College of Human Environmental Sciences.

Dr. Mesut Yavuz, associate professor, Culverhouse College of Commerce.